The Wine Literary Award Tasting

  • The 2007 Wine Literary Award Tasting
  • The 2006 Wine Literary Award Tasting
  • The 2005 Wine Literary Award Tasting
  • The 2004 Wine Literary Award Tasting
  • The 2003 Wine Literary Award Tasting
  • General Information
  • Previous Wine Literary Award Winners
  • Previous Press Tasting Winery Winners
  • Frequently Asked Questions

  • General Information

    This is one of the most unique and exciting events in the wine industry. It is designed to provide wine journalists with a comprehensive tasting of American wines, give winery personnel an opportunity to show support for wine writers and to honor one of the world's best wine authors with a lifetime achievement award.

    The Wine Literary Award is presented in two parts. The daytime Press Wine Tasting is open only to wine journalists. Wine writers from around the world come to this event to experience a professional, comprehensive tasting of 1000 American wines. The buzz with wine writers is that WLA is the most enjoyable and productive tasting of the year (if you know one, ask them. If you are one, you probably already know). The participants of the Press Tasting are also treated to a "Tour Through the Kitchen" lunch buffet, prepared by the students at the California Culinary Academy.

    The Evening Award Banquet is a black tie optional affair that begins with a Grand Tasting of 1000 American wines. The price of one ticket includes unlimited tasting of these wines, an hors d’oeuvres buffet and a multi-course dinner prepared by the students and chefs at the CCA. Participation in this gala also witness one of the world's most esteemed wine book authors receive recognition for a lifetime of literary contribution.

    For additional information please contact Bryan Imelli at (800) 231-9463 ext. 22, or e-mail

    Previous Wine Literary Award Winners

    1986 Hugh Johnson
    1987 Robert Parker, Jr.
    1988 Harry Waugh
    1989 Hugh Johnson
    1991 Leon D. Adams
    1992 Dan Berger & Richard P. Hinkle
    1993 Bob Thompson
    1995 Jancis Robinson
    1999 Tom Stevenson
    2000 Gerald Asher
    2001 Gene Ford
    2002 James Halliday
    2003 Michael Broadbent
    2004 Robert Lawrence Balzer
    2005 Andrea (Immer) Robinson
    2006 Kevin Zraly
    2007 Karen MacNeil

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Q: How do I get my wines into the Wine Literary Award Press Tasting?

    A: You may submit three bottles of each variety and vintage you want tasted. All wines and information should be shipped to the W.A.G. warehouse, at the above address.

    Q: What does it cost to enter my wines into the tasting?

    A: There is no fee. The event is entirely subsidized by the Wine Appreciation Guild as a service to the wine industry and authors.

    Q: Which wine writers will attend?

    A: We limit the press tasting to a select group of 100 of the top wine writers, and a few members of the general press.

    Q: Are there any medals or awards given to the wines?

    A: For the fourth year, wine writers at the press tasting will be asked to vote for Best Discovery, Best New Winery, Best Package and Best of Show. The winners will be announced at the Evening Award Banquet. However, the main goal of this event is to give the press an opportunity to taste a large number of American wines at one time in a hassle-free environment.

    Q: Do we need to provide staff to pour our wines?

    A: No. The writers, with the help of the W.A.G. staff, do all pouring. Participants at the Evening Banquet also pour for themselves.

    Q: Which wines will be written up by the press?

    A: This is entirely up to the writer. In the past, major articles have come out of this tasting in local, national and international papers and magazines, as well as radio and television.

    Q: When can I meet the authors and journalists to discuss my wines?

    A: At the Evening Banquet and Tasting, which starts at 6:00 p.m. Each winery is encouraged to participate in this black tie optional event. Reserve early, it's always a sell out.

    For additional information:
    Contact Bryan Imelli at (800) 231-9463 ext. 22, or e-mail

    Press Tasting Winery Winners

    Results of 2002 press tasting

    Best New Winery
    Ceja Vineyards

    Best Wine Discovery
    Mount Pleasant Winery
    1999 Norton

    Best Label
    Miner Family Vineyards
    1999 "Stagecoach" Merlot

    Best Of Show
    Tablas Creek Vineyards
    2000 Clos Blanc

    Results of 2003 press tasting

    Best New Winery
    Arger--Martucci Vineyards

    Best Wine Discovery
    Pietra Santa Winery
    1999 "Sassolino"

    Best Label
    Van Duzer Vineyards
    2000 Pinot Noir

    Best Of Show
    Silver Oak Cellars
    1999 Cabernet Sauvignon
    Napa Valley

    Results of 2004 press tasting

    Best New Winery

    Obscurity Cellars, Sierra Foothills

    Léal Estate Vineyards, San Benito
    RagApple Lassie Vineyards, North Carolina

    Best Wine Discovery

    Acorn Winery, Sangiovese, Alegria Vineyards, Russian River Valley

    Kathryn Kennedy Winery, 1999 Syrah, Maridon Vineyard, Santa Cruz Mountains
    Curran, 2001 Sangiovese, Santa Barbara

    Best Of Show

    Murrieta’s Well, 2001 “Zarzuela” Livermore Valley

    Miner Family Winery, 2002 Sangiovese Gibson Ranch
    Robert Craig Wine Cellars, 2001 Cabernet Sauvignon Mount Veeder

    Best Label

    Heron Hill Winery, 2001 “Eclipse”

    Cloud 9 Winery 2001 “Seity”
    Tom Eddy Wines 1999 Petit Verdot

  • Back to News Home Page

  • Results of 2005 press tasting

    Best Wine Discovery (Red)

    – Winner:
    De La Montanya 2003 Reserve Pinot Noir, Russian River Valley
    – Finalists:
    XYZin 2003 Zinfandel, Sandy Lane Vineyard, Contra Costa County
    Silkwood 2002 Petite Sirah, Stanislaus County

    Best Wine Discovery (White)

    – Winner:
    Mount Baker Vineyards 2003 Viognier, Washington
    – Finalists:
    Becker Vineyards 2004 Chardonnay, Texas
    Williamsburg 2002 Chardonnay, Virginia

    Best New Winery

    – Winner:
    Harmonique, Anderson Valley, California
    – Finalists:
    Keswick Vineyards, Virginia
    Q, Napa Valley

    Best Package/Label

    – Winner:
    Laurel Lake “Creedence”, Long Island
    – Finalists:
    Viansa 2002 “Lorenzo”, Sonoma Valley
    Niebaum Coppola 2004 “Sofia” Rose’ of Pinot Noir, Carneros

    Best Of Show (Red)

    – Winner:
    Kunde Estate, Reserve Cabernet, 2001, Reserve, Sonoma Valley
    – Finalists:
    Franciscan 2001 “Magnificat”, Napa Valley
    Silvan Ridge, 2002 Pinot Noir, Oregon

    Best Of Show (White)

    – Winner:
    Paul Hobbs, Chardonnay, 2003 Russian River Valley
    – Finalists:
    St. Supery 2004, “Dollarhide” Sauvignon Blanc, Napa Valley
    Matanzas Creek 2002 Sauvignon Blanc, California

  • Back to News Home Page